Advancing transformations to more sustainable and equitable futures. Read more.

Transformational change by civil society on the agenda for 3rd Transformative Knowledge Workshop

The third Transformative Knowledge Workshop begins today at Jawaharlal Nehru University, New Delhi, India. It will bring together representatives from the three Transformative Knowledge Networks (TKNs) funded under the ISSC’s Transformations to Sustainability (T2S) Programme – ACKnowl-EJ, Pathways and T-Learning – as well as others who were involved in the seed grants funded in 2014.

Taking place almost one year into the networks’ activities, the workshop will focus on understanding the early stages of the transformative change process and gearing up to mobilize change. It will also be a chance to deepen connections between the TKN projects and partners and build skills in managing complex projects.

The workshop takes advantage of the location and moment to learn about transformational change from the struggles and successes of social movements in India and from the knowledge collected in the recently published World Social Science Report 2016, “Challenging Inequalities: Pathways to a Just World”.

One day of the workshop (7 November) will include a launch of the World Social Science Report and a seminar focusing on the intersection between the themes of the Report and the T2S programme – inequalities, transformational change and sustainability.

The Stein Rokkan Prize-Winner 2015, Marius Busemeyer, will round off the day with a keynote talk on the role of education in addressing inequalities and injustices.

The four-day workshop is hosted by the partners of the PATHWAYS Transformative Knowledge Network (TKN) at Jawaharlal Nehru University and the Indian Council for Social Science Research (ICSSR), with the support of the German Research Foundation (DFG). It’s the third in a series of annual workshops organized under the auspices of the Transformations to Sustainability Programme. Previous workshops have taken place in Potsdam, Germany, and Durban, South Africa.

The Stein Rokkan Prize ceremony is managed by the European Consortium for Political Research (ECPR) and sponsored by the University of Bergen.


Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *